Prison Break
Prison Break is an American tv series that premiered on the Fox Broadcasting Company on August 29, 2005. The story revolves around a man who was sentenced to death for a crime he did not commit and his brother's elaborate plan to help him escape his death sentence. The series' protagonists are Lincoln Burrows played by Dominic Purcell and Michael Scofield played by Wentworth Miller. Lincoln is a high school dropout and a convicted felon, who is wrongfully accused of and charged with the murder of the Vice President of the United State's brother. Michael is Lincoln's brother and worked as a structural engineer before devoting full-time to his brother's case.

Created by Paul Scheuring, the show is produced by Adelstein-Parouse Productions in association with Original Television and 20th Century Fox Television. The current executive producers are Paul Scheuring, Matt Olmsted, Kevin Hooks, Marty Adelstein, Dawn Parouse, Neal Moritz and Brett Ratner. Its theme music is composed by Ramin Djawadi, and was nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award in 2006.

The show, currently in its third season, was originally only planned to run for two seasons. The uniqueness of Prison Break is attributed to its serialized story structure, a similar format used by Lost and 24, and to its setting, as very few television series were primarily set and filmed in a prison. Its success and recognition as a prison drama revived interest in the genre.